[] [] [index]

       Deciduous conifers - a list published by Michael Frankis

There are really only 4 genera of deciduous conifer, and although the Ginkgo is often included it is not strictly a conifer.  In the UK the Larch is commonly grown in forests, but you tend to find the Bald Cypress and the Dawn Redwood only in parks and gardens. They are very attractive trees having delicate fern-like foliage, and the Dawn Redwood has a red trunk.  This latter tree was only 'disovered' by Western plant hunters in about 1947.  It was well known in fossil reords, but had not been seen in the wild, so quickly became a conifer 'treasure', rather like the Wollemia in 1994.


Larix (larches; 13 species)

    Larix decidua (European Larch)

    Larix sibirica (Siberian Larch)

    Larix gmelinii (Dauhurian Larch)

    Larix kaempferi (Japanese Larch)

    Larix principis-rupprechtii (Prince Rupprecht's Larch)

    Larix himalaica (Langtang Larch)

    Larix griffithii (Himalayan Larch)

    Larix kongboensis (Kongbo Larch)

    Larix potaninii (Potanin's Larch)

    Larix mastersiana (Masters' Larch)

    Larix lyallii (Subalpine Larch)

    Larix occidentalis (Western Larch)

    Larix laricina (Tamarack Larch)

Pseudolarix amabilis (Golden Larch)


Taxodium (baldcypresses; 2 species deciduous, a third evergreen)

    Taxodium distichum (Bald Cypress)

    Taxodium ascendens (Pond Cypress)

Metasequoia glyptostroboides (Dawn Redwood)

Glyptostrobus pensilis (Chinese Swamp Sypress)


Ginkgo biloba (Ginkgo; not really a conifer)